Awards & Recognition

Providence Kodiak Island Medical Center, Providence Alaska Medical Center receive awards for high-quality hospitals
Mountain-Pacific Quality Health has awarded the Quality Achievement Award to Providence Kodiak Island Medical Center and the Commitment to Quality Award to Providence Alaska Medical Center. The awards recognize hospitals for their dedication to ensuring patients receive high quality care in seven national quality project areas. In order win the Quality Achievement Award, hospitals must reach a 95 percent performance composite score for the most recent two quarters of data. To win the Commitment to Quality Award, hospitals must reach a 90 percent performance composite score the most recent two quarters of data.

Joint Commission Accreditation
PKIMC is a critical access hospital accredited by the Joint Commission. This accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards.
Level IV Trauma Designation Certification
PKIMC was designated as a Level IV trauma center by the State of Alaska Department of Health and Social Services. Trauma center designations are based on the hospital’s care capability. Level IV hospitals provide initial evaluation, assessment, stabilization and transfer of critical patients to higher level trauma centers.
Care Center quality of care
  • Medicare 5-star rating, 2011, 2012
  • U.S. News' best nursing homes - 2013
VHA Inc. Hospital Engagement Network (2014)VHAMemberBadge
The VHA Hospital Engagement Network (HEN) helps hospitals improve in 10 areas of focus ranging from falls and surgical site infections to readmissions. VHA is a national network of not-for-profit health care organizations that work together to improve performance and efficiency in clinical, financial and operational management.
Mountain-Pacific Quality Health awards PKIMC with Commitment to Quality Award (2012)
PKIMC received the Mountain-Pacific Quality Health Commitment to Quality award during the Alaska State Hospital & Nursing Home Association annual conference in 2012. This award recognizes hospitals for their dedication to ensuring that patients receive high-quality care in the areas of heart attack, heart failure, pneumonia and surgical infection prevention.
Press Ganey Best Place to Practice Award (2009)
In 2009, PKIMC became one of only six hospitals nationwide to receive a 2009 Press Ganey Best Place to Practice Award. Since then, our physician satisfaction ratings continue to rank around 99%.
ENERGY STAR certification (2012)
PKIMC was awarded ENERGY STAR certification from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). This certification signifies that the facility meets strict energy performance standards set by the EPA and uses less energy, is less expensive to operate and causes fewer greenhouse gas emissions than its peers.